Body Shamming Culture 

IMG_1095Body shamming is not the one opt from anywhere. It’s in our culture. Born with dark skin is a kind of embarrassment to your family and yourself of body shamming culture in your society. There is not anything which says body shamming culture but you face it each and every time you hit the street, events and mostly more in family functions. Did you ever stop and think about how often we are told to change our appearance? Magazines constantly offer tips about how to lose weight “in days,” appear slimmer “instantly,” and hide our “imperfections”… without actually knowing anything about us, much less our appearance. This is one example of body-shaming, and it is everywhere.

 I still remember my childhood and my relatives called me “Kali”. This means girl with dark skin. The motivated part of it is you resemble to the GODDESS KALI. In my school days, I had a teacher with dark skin. My friends used to tease me being darker in skin ton than theirs. My teacher heard about that and he said, “at least we are born with color”. WOW….. after this I started to compare myself with Goddess Kali and her daring stories of bravery. It actually did not matter to me as my mother told me I got the skin color from my grandmother. What else I expect than this… as I am compared to KALI and my Grandmother. But each time Someone commented on my skin color I hide on my mother’s lab and she always convinced me with various reasons which indeed inspired me. This meant I always need reason to face criticism. It was hard sometime. The best part is I learnt to face these criticism whether it on my skin color, my weight and my height. I love my body image.

 Due to body shaming culture, I have been skipping family functions. It’s really disturbing when your relatives come to and instead of asking about your education and career, they jumped on your body weight and prohibit you to eat. They never share what could be the best solution to get rid of fat in the body but they tease you with satires. The most popular one is “oh your weight; you won’t get good marriage proposal” & ” boys like skinny girls rather than heavy weight”.

Your Reflection Does not Define Your Worth

No matter how body shamming manifests like criticizing your own appearance, through a judgment or comparison to another person (I’m so ugly compared to her), it often leads to comparison and shame, and perpetuates the idea that people should be judged mainly for their physical features.

 These days, beginning with puberty, females are TWICE as likely to experience depression as males. This is directly associated with our objectifying culture, which leads us to evaluate and control our bodies in terms of our sexual desirability above all else. Similarly, media has been dangerously sexualizing women and girls and it has given the false impression that to be attractive, popular and interesting you must be skinny and hyper-feminine. Globally there is a body acceptance movement today which attempts to combat the negative stereotypes around women and men who are conventionally considered overweight or obese. Body shamming is now a culture which has been in grained in our system that the coming generations are prone to risk behavior. Instead of body shamming we should accept the culture of respecting and communicating about loving ones body.

Replace judgement and criticism with love

IMG_1099

Leave a Reply

