Nepali Movie: Jhola

I am eventually not a die hard fan of Nepali Movies. I rarely watch Nepali movies until someone refers or hear good review on it. I can count on my hand when someone asks me how many Nepali Movie I watched. I always have critiques on Nepali movies, actors, directors, stories, songs and dialogues. Its only because Nepali movies never match with current situations, never highlight Nepali scenario (its culture, religion, social values and norms, traditional beliefs, women’s rights and their struggle), never present stories of Gorkhas: Great Warriors instead only have stories which are irrelevant, dialogues never sound good, songs with disgracing women and coping from Hollywood and Bollywood movies.

Image

Nepali Movie Jhola

But this time I am talking about Nepali movie Jhola which made me think about the future of Nepal in Cinema. I really appreciate the director of the film Mr. Achyut Ghimire for highlighted the old tradition of Nepal which had been supressing Nepali women from century Sathi System. Before talking about this story.I would like to talk about “Sati Pratha” a heart breaking bitter history of Nepal .Sati partha -a traditional practice in which a Hindu widow had to cremate herself on the funeral pyre of her husband.‘Sati’ is an ancient Sanskrit term, meaning a chaste woman who thinks of no other man than her own husband. Which has no any co-relation with suicide or murder and has never been mentioned in any scriptures as Sati Pratha.The practice was just the cruel tradition established by those bloodthirsty and merciless male rulers .Sati is often described as voluntary, although in some cases it may have been forced as you can hear in this story.

The practice was abolished by Rana Prime Minister Chandra Shumsher Rana on Asar 25, 1977 BS in Nepal.

This story sent me back to the period 1977. I have just heard and learnt about this cruel system in my Master level but never imagined how it would be like. The women who lived before 1977 had miserable life. Its gives me goose-bumbs even think about my ancestors who might have faced this. This story reveals  that ferocious Sati practice of that time :frightening history.

ImageTwo highlighting moments in this story brings tear in my eye: when son cries in front of sati ( his mother ) and when his mother gives him food before eating even though she is starving from few days.

Most Watch Nepali Movie. It’s really impressive. The story how it is narrated, force you to think about women’s oppression, gender inequality and unequal power relation. It is not any religion and culture which force Sathi System as compulsion its indeed the follower, especially so called masculine men to suppress the sexuality of young women.

Through this film my perception towards Nepali movies has changed. At least I see this movie as the beginning of new horizon to cinema in Nepal which surely going to highlight the history, culture and real scenario of Nepal through movies to give new generation insight of Nepal.

11 thoughts on “Nepali Movie: Jhola

  1. I have been hearing a lot about this movie. If I were in Nepal, I would gladly go and watch it. I was wondering if there is an online link to watch this movie….

  2. I too seeking for this movie online since couple of months
    I watched this movie once at Kentucky its soooup one so i still wanna watch it once again but i coun;t find it out online
    i would like to request you guys to upload this movie as soon as possible
    thankx

Leave a Reply

